2017 ProCon Awards Finalists Announced

Published 01st September 2017 by ProCon Leicestershire

Fifteen new, refurbished and extended buildings are in the running to be named winners in the 2017 ProCon Leicestershire Awards.

Three photographers are also competing in a new category, for the best Architectural Image of the Year. They and the developers, architects, contractors and consultants who worked on the projects in Leicestershire and Rutland will find out on November 9 if they have won a coveted award.

More than 620 people will gather at Leicester’s King Power Stadium for the ceremony – the tickets for which sold out in a record two minutes after they went on sale in May.

Four corporate sponsors are backing the Awards. They are Salus Approved Inspectors, Spearing Waite, Unique Window Systems and Westleigh Partnerships. The Leicester Mercury is the Awards’ media partner.

The categories and their finalists are:

The Small Residential Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Infrastructure Investments:

  • Number One Westhill Road, Leicester, submitted by Stephen George + Partners
  • Stoney Lane, Coleorton, submitted by Staniforth Architects
  • The White House, Wellsborough, submitted by Mercer Building Solutions

The Large Residential Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Infrastructure Investments:

  • Heathcott Road, Leicester, submitted by emh group
  • Lady Martin Drive, Woodhouse Eaves, submitted by Corporate Architecture
  • Lumis, Leicester, submitted by Maber

The Small Non-Residential Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Gateley:

  • Mill Lane Public Realm Project, Leicester, submitted by Leicester City Council, De Montfort University and Danaher & Walsh
  • The Deep End Activity Centre, Rawlins Academy, Quorn, submitted by YMD Boon
  • The Tithe Barn, Cosby, submitted by BRP Architects

The Large Non-Residential Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Gateley:

  • Fairfield Preparatory School, Loughborough, submitted by Studio-G Associates
  • Leicester Royal Infirmary Emergency Department Phase One, submitted by Interserve Construction
  • Vijay Patel Building, De Montfort University, Leicester, submitted by De Montfort University

The Regeneration Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Pochin:

  • Abbots Oak Phase One, near Whitwick, submitted by Sarah and Anthony Kurr
  • Leicester Castle Business School, Leicester, submitted by De Montfort University

The photographers who are finalists in the Architectural Image of the Year are:

  • Lewis Buncher, Leicester College
  • Keith Cooper, Northlight Images
  • Jerry Wesley, Jerry Wesley Photography

ProCon chair Pam Allardice, of the construction law firm Allardice Associates, said: “Each year I am deeply impressed by the standard of the projects that qualify as finalists. And this, our 15th year, is no exception.

“The projects have already convinced our expert judges of their merits. Now, in some of the categories, the members of ProCon get to cast their votes.

“Our thanks again go to our corporate sponsors, our new and existing category sponsors and all the sponsors who will make the ceremony the best possible celebration of the sterling efforts of everyone in the industry.”

Other Recent News


©2024 ProCon Leicestershire Limited. All rights reserved. The use of our website is subject to our Website Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Cookies Policy documentation.

ProCon Leicestershire Limited

47 Westview Avenue, Glen Parva, Leicester. LE2 9JU. Company number: 5420643