2017 ProCon Awards winners revealed

Published 13th November 2017 by ProCon Leicestershire

The best construction projects in Leicestershire have been named winners of the 2017 ProCon Leicestershire Awards.

A house extension and a £43m university faculty building were winners, as were student flats, the restoration of a Grade II listed former chapel and a green thoroughfare.

De Montfort University claimed two of the six awards. And a new category was won by a photograph of a business building in Market Harborough.

The developers, architects, contractors and consultants who worked on the projects celebrated their successes on November 9 at the King Power Stadium. More than 620 people attended the ceremony which was hosted by broadcaster and former MP Gyles Brandreth.

Four corporate sponsors backed the 15th annual ProCon Awards. They are Salus Approved Inspectors, Spearing Waite, Unique Window Systems and Westleigh Partnerships. The Leicester Mercury is the Awards’ media partner.

The categories and their winners are:

  • The Small Residential Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Infrastructure Investments: Number One Westhill Road, Leicester, submitted by Stephen George + Partners
  • The Large Residential Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Infrastructure Investments: Lumis – Southgates, Leicester, submitted by Maber
  • The Small Non-Residential Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Gateley: Mill Lane & The Gateway Public Realm Project, Leicester, submitted by Leicester City Council, De Montfort University and Danaher & Walsh
  • The Large Non-Residential Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Gateley: Vijay Patel Building, De Montfort University, Leicester, submitted by De Montfort University
  • The Regeneration Scheme of the Year, sponsored by Pochin: Abbots Oak Phase One, near Whitwick, submitted by Sarah and Anthony Kurr
  • The Architectural Image of the Year: TGW Interior, by Jerry Wesley, Jerry Wesley Photography

Gyles Brandreth presided over a raffle at the ceremony, which raised £7,840 for The Joe Humphries Memorial Trust.

ProCon chair Pam Allardice, of the construction law firm Allardice Associates, said: “On behalf of the ProCon members I congratulate the winners and the finalists. Our thanks go to everyone who entered, to our sponsors and to our judges.

“This is the fifteenth year of the ProCon Awards and, once again, outstanding projects have been chosen as winners. Their quality underlines the strengths of the businesses and people behind them.”

Other Recent News


©2024 ProCon Leicestershire Limited. All rights reserved. The use of our website is subject to our Website Terms of Use, Privacy Policy and Cookies Policy documentation.

ProCon Leicestershire Limited

47 Westview Avenue, Glen Parva, Leicester. LE2 9JU. Company number: 5420643